Testimonials

image308

Microtia

Dear Dr O’Toole,  On my last visit to the Royal Free Hospital (Clinic 1), the nurse who took care of me said that during my stay in Poland I should go to the doctor for a „control” visit.   I was in control today in a private hospital Lift med in Rybnik, Poland. The surgeon said that everything is fine with my ear, that everything is healing well and that she is admirable to you because she participated in such operations and never saw such a beautiful ear effect.  The Doctor asked me about your name so I told her what your name is, she said that she would personally write to you the message how admirable she is.  I am so thankful to you Mr O’Toole, see you soon in September.  Greetings from Poland,         



Prominent ear correction 

3/19/2018     

Hi Greg,  I’d just like to say how impressed and pleased I am with my results. Initially, I thought they were not pushed back enough but now it has been nearly two months and they are just perfect. If they were pushed back more they would be invisible from front on! You would never even have noticed that I had work done on them. They’ve healed very well and my confidence is higher than ever. Im 100% certain I made the right choice going to you for my surgery. Its worth paying that little bit extra for higher chances of it being the outcome I would have only dreamed of having. Your attention to detail and the care that goes into your surgery is outstanding. Many doctors would go too far and glue the ears back to the head without thinking of how they will look in the long run. But you executed the surgery perfectly!  The whole process was very professional and well handled. You were super atentive and helpful, especially where I (as I’m sure most others do too) panicked at the first sign of asymmetric pain and blistering! My fear of needles close to my face was handled amazingly by you and your fabulous nurse, both of which kept me entertained and distracted throughout the whole surgery. Although I must say I don’t think I’d like to go through it again, I’m glad that you and your nurse were the ones helping me through it!  I could not recommend you and your high skill set enough and thank you for completely changing my life and confidence, as silly as that sounds. I have not worn my hair down since the procedure and that is all thanks to you! Your secretary was very helpful and understanding with changing the date of the surgery to suit my payment issues and answered all of my questions perfectly.  Even my mum was impressed with you and your team and she wasn’t keen on me having surgery in the first place! Thats saying something. My agency are also very happy with my results and agree they look very natural and perfect.  Thank you again and I hope they continue to heal and look as amazing as they do now.  I hope you and your new family have a prosperous and joyful new years and I will definitely be recommending you to anyone that wants to hear it.  Thanks again Greg,  



Ear prominence correction  

3/2/2018     

Just to say I am 8 weeks post op and my ears have healed very well and I am absolutely delighted with the result.My ears are perfect and a very good natural look I really could not have wished for a better outcome.Mr O'Toole was an amazing Consultant who i felt totally at ease with and fully trusted him.I would highly commend him and would like my Thanks and appreciation passed on to him for his excellent work.I would also like him to know that Mr .......... at QA Hospital asked me to show him my result as he was very interested in my case and recommended me to Mr O'Toole after seeing me as my condition was slightly unusual.He said a great job and Definitely the best man for the job.                 



earfold / earstitch combined  

3/2/2018     

Hi Greg,  Just wanted to say a big thank you for fixing my ears. They had their first ‘outing’ the other evening and I felt so much better and more confident. Friends have also commented what a great job you did. Thank you so much!  Z.....   

 


Ear surgery  

9/8/2015             

I visited Greg O'Toole for a private consultation with a member of my family to see if he could correct a congenital ear deformity. From the outset, he was polite, realistic and honest about what he could do to improve the appearance of my ears. He explained clearly what the procedure would involve, the risks and the final outcome of the surgery. Not once did I feel pressured by him to go ahead with the surgery and I certainly did not feel he wanted my money. Throughout my consultation, he made it clear that whilst he could improve the appearance of my ears, he could not make them "perfect" - he is after all aplastic surgeon, not a miracle worker. I left my consultation feeling happy and confident with what Mr O'Toole told me, what could/could not be achieved and was clear about all the risks involved.   I recently went ahead with the surgery and met Mr O'Toole again on the morning of my surgery as well as other members of his team including the anaesthetist and all were extremely professional and discussed my procedure with me step by step. I was under no illusions as to what to expect post surgery and I cannot fault the information, honesty and professionalism which was portrayed.   Mr O'Toole visited me daily during my stay in hospital and kept a close check on my wounds and how things were healing. I then visited him twice at his clinic to have dressings and stitches removed and at all times, he explained everything to me and members of my family.  Although it is early days and my ears are still bruised, swollen and healing, I am delighted with the results so far. Mr O'Toole has already advised me that I will need a couple of pieces of cartilage shaving off (about a mm in size) in several months' time once the swelling has settled but this is quite common after such procedures. Whilst I will never have perfect ears, Mr O'Toole has significantly improved the appearance of them. I would not hesitate in recommending him to anyone who required ear surgery. He is a skilful, honest, realistic surgeon for whom I have the greatest respect. I am so pleased that I saw him on Embarrassing Bodies because if I hadn't, I would have just continued to live albeit very unhappily, with my congenital ear deformity. It is good that he advertises his work otherwise people wouldn't know where to go to have deformities corrected which have a significant impact on their daily lives and confidence. Mr O'Toole is passionate about his work, cares about his patients and gives them realistic information about what he can achieve. The problem is many people who have plastic surgeryexpect perfection - this doesn't exist and yes, there is always a risk of infection after any surgery but that is not the surgeon's fault! If you are thinking of having ear surgery then Mr O'Toole definitely comes with my recommendations and I cannot thank him enough for making me feel happy on the inside and giving me ears that look normal on the outside - normal not perfect! He's a great guy and still gives people who can't afford to pay privately like I did, to be treated on the NHS. 


Bermuda1   

Ear deformity 

 7/8/2015    

I can honestly say that my experience with Greg O'Toole has been very good. I have yet to actually have surgery with him but my consultation was very impressive. I found him confident but certainly not arrogant. He even suggested to me the surgeons that he thought were also good at this type of work which did include David Gault. Later, he kindly sent me some details of previous surgery that would be very similar to what I wanted.         



Earfold   

6/14/2015    

I've deliberately held off a few weeks before writing this post as I've been waiting to see the final results before committing to a testimony for Greg O'Toole. It has been three weeks since I had earfold surgery on my left ear - which was much more prominent than my right - and I am very pleased with the results.  I'd done a significant amount of research into the surgery before I had approached anyone and made my decision to meet Mr O'Toole for a consultation having seen some of the positive results he had.   For me, the subject of my ear is quite an emotional one and something I've tried to avoid for most of my life. What I wanted from the consultation with Mr O'Toole was a realistic and non-emotional assessment and a clear indication of what could be achieved. It is exactly what he gave me: clearly explaining the risks, the procedure and the fact that perfect symmetry is difficult due to the tissue in my ear. I was nervous but he put me at ease.  Following this conversation I felt pretty confident in his hands and I decided to go ahead with the surgery in Harley Street. Despite a slight mishap on the day (he'd forgotten to take the earfold implants - but to his credit went straight home and picked them up) the surgery was quick, relatively painless and I felt that I was in the hands of a professional. He was also friendly and informative, and while supremely confident in what he was doing I saw no arrogance. I left with a slightly swollen ear but feeling comfortable that Mr O'Toole had done his job to the high standard I'd expected and paid for.  It's now three weeks on and my ear is almost completely healed and looking great. I've had my first 'above the ears' haircut in about 20 years and I'm very happy with the results.   Given this experience - and I realise it is only one point of view and it is alway worth looking at the experiences of a number of people before committing to surgery - I'd absolutely recommend Mr O'Toole for anyone considering earfold surgery and looking for a confident, professional and extremely confident surgeon they will feel comfortable with.                 



Ear reconstruction  

12/21/2014     

To Dr O'Toole thank you for evrything you have done for me... Have a nice time and enjoy yourself Enjoy Christmas  Love from ​H.. Thank you Dr O'Toole  


Ear reconstruction

11/11/16

I want to tell you "Thank you" , But it doesn't seem enough. Words don't seem sufficient. Please know I have deep feelings. About your generous act. I really appreciate everything you have done for my daughter.     


Prominent Ear Correction  

2/25/2014     

Dear Greg,   Just a very quick email to attach a photo of Jxxx's ear, and to say thank you.   I took the bandages off today and was shocked at how neat and tidy it all looked, no blood, a little bit of bruising but all in all amazing.  Will thank you properly but just wanted to let you have this photo now for your collection!  You really are quite incredible to be able to have the vision to know exactly how things will look and what is possible..and anyone who is fortunate enough to have you as their surgeon must be really blessed!   Best wishes        


Ear surgery

I would like to share my positive experience with Mr O'Toole. > > After going to see Mr O'Toole in April 2013 for an initial consultation for prominent ear correction, I made the decision to go ahead with the procedure and had my first prominent ear correction surgery in June 2013. I had always wanted to get it done at some point through my teenage years but was quite scared as to what it would involve and did not know what surgeon to go to or which one to trust. > > After researching various surgeons again when I was approaching 30 I came across Mr O'Toole and noticed he had a lot of positive reviews. This is one of the reasons why I chose to book a consultation with him. After the consultation I was definate that I wanted to go through with the surgery. Mr O'Toole spent a lot of time with me explaining the procedure and the possible outcomes. Mr O'Toole advised me about the risks of which recurrence was one. He said that this happened in every 1 out of 10 cases. Mr O'Toole reassured me and was very down to earth and honest with whatever questions I had asked. He was also confident that he could improve the look of my ears. > > After my first surgery in June 2013 I went back for a few follow up appointments. It took around 4 months for the final position of my ears to be noticed. I went back to Mr O'Toole in November (5 months after surgery) as I had noticed that my right ear had moved back out more than the left (left had only moved slightly). He agreed that my ears had moved and offered to re-operate on my ears free of charge to correct this. This was arranged for January 2014. > > I am now 3 weeks post the second procedure and again everything went well. I will again have to wait to see the true position of my ears after around 3 to 6 months, however I am confident that he has achieved a good result. If not, I feel completely comfortable to go back to him and discuss this. > > Overall, I have found Mr O'Toole to be a nice guy, who genuinely cares and wants his patients to be happy with the results. If anyone is thinking about prominent ear correction I would definitely recommend Mr O'Toole.           <



Ear reconstruction

by SC 

July 2018 ​ 

Hello, I just wanted to send a quick email to thank Mr O'Toole. It's been a year since my ear surgery and all is well. Thank you for your excellent service and the professionalism of your team. I'd certainly recommend you. Warm Regards,  


Earstitch

by AS 

Mon 19th March 2018  

Hi Greg, I’d just like to say how impressed and pleased I am with my results. Initially, I thought they were not pushed back enough but now it has been nearly two months and they are just perfect. If they were pushed back more they would be invisible from front on! You would never even have noticed that I had work done on them. They’ve healed very well and my confidence is higher than ever. Im 100% certain I made the right choice going to you for my surgery. Its worth paying that little bit extra for higher chances of it being the outcome I would have only dreamed of having. Your attention to detail and the care that goes into your surgery is outstanding. Many doctors would go too far and glue the ears back to the head without thinking of how they will look in the long run. But you executed the surgery perfectly!  The whole process was very professional and well handled. You were super atentive and helpful, especially where I (as I’m sure most others do too) panicked at the first sign of asymmetric pain and blistering! My fear of needles close to my face was handled amazingly by you and your fabulous nurse, both of which kept me entertained and distracted throughout the whole surgery. Although I must say I don’t think I’d like to go through it again, I’m glad that you and your nurse were the ones helping me through it!  I could not recommend you and your high skill set enough and thank you for completely changing my life and confidence, as silly as that sounds. I have not worn my hair down since the procedure and that is all thanks to you! Your secretary was very helpful and understanding with changing the date of the surgery to suit my payment issues and answered all of my questions perfectly.  Even my mum was impressed with you and your team and she wasn’t keen on me having surgery in the first place! Thats saying something. My agency are also very happy with my results and agree they look very natural and perfect.  Thank you again and I hope they continue to heal and look as amazing as they do now.  I hope you have a prosperous and joyful new years and I will definitely be recommending you to anyone that wants to hear it.  Thanks again Greg,  All the best,  


Otoplasty

by Vicki Thurs Nov 02, 2016  

I first went to see Mr O' Toole in July this year, with  regard to a prominent right ear correction. Almost 3 months to the day later I had my earstitch procedure and I can honestly say I have received nothing but exceptional care and treatment from Mr O' Toole and can highly recommend him if you are considering ear surgery.  Since the age of 13, I first became hugely self conscious and increasingly aware that my right ear was more prominent than my left. For the next 20 years it really bothered me, I covered that ear with my hair at all times, avoided photos and was desperate to have otoplasty. What may have seemed trivial to most hugely affected my confidence, already being self conscious of how I looked anyway, the ear was the one thing I could try to improve! However , being  very squeamish and a wimp  when it comes to pain the "old style" method and need for a GA horrified me. Quite by chance, I came across an article in a newspaper about the new pioneering earfold method, I was instantly intrigued and fascinated and immediately searched this procedure online, doing a huge amount of reading and research having never heard of it before. The minimalistic approach with a rapid return to work etc really appealed to me so in May 2015 I tentatively emailed Mr O' Toole's team but at that stage was just too nervous and hesitant to take it any further. I spent the next year or so continuing to read countless patient reviews and thought it sounded everything I had ever hoped for and more.. I knew deep down I still desperately wanted this done and would always regret it if I never proceeded further, so in July I emailed again and booked my initial consultation, knowing that if I didn't do it now I never would.  The hardest part for me and the biggest step to take was this initial consultation, I wondered "what was I thinking?!", I was so unsure, nervous and uncertain of what to expect, having never had any procedure or surgery  before. On the day I was so nervous I could hardly speak! Mr O' Toole straight away put me at ease, was very welcoming, friendly and approachable, almost instantly my anxiety disappeared and although I felt embarrassed and reluctant to show him my ear, he understood it is a sensitive subject and nothing to be self conscious about. He carefully explained exactly what both earfold and earstitch involved, clearly stating what can and cannot be achieved by each method, and made it very clear the risks of possible post op complications, the expected recovery time, chances of recurrence and the cost. He also fully answered my questions then asked me what I would like my ear to look like, and got me to show him in a mirror, he listened to how I felt, valuing my opinion and expectations. I personally wasn't keen on the earfold , preferring instead the idea of the stitch method, to which Mr O' Toole agreed but said we could try on an earfold anyway just to see what result it would have for me, it overcorrected my ear confirming the stitch would work best. Mr O' Toole showed and talked me through  a "touch surgery" computer generated simulation, which was absolutely brilliant in showing me exactly how this surgery works , this was extremely useful to me, helping me to understand the procedure fully to get a realistic idea of what it involved surgically. I walked out elated, impressed by  everything I had heard and so glad that I went, any doubts I had earlier had faded away , and he had installed confidence  in what he could offer- I knew now for certain this was a realistic option to me.  I was advised to go and spend time thinking  carefully about this decision, and a week later decided I definitely wanted to go ahead, so it was booked for October, I eagerly anticipated the day and couldn't wait to get it done. On the day of surgery, Mr O' Toole again explained clearly and concisely what to expect. Everything went amazingly well, I was actually excited and it was far , far better than I ever imagined, I anticipated it to be a very painful, scary experience but in fact it was very pleasant and strangely enjoyable! This was largely thanks to the fact that during surgery Mr O' Toole remained calm, highly focussed yet still able to put you at ease, along with the fantastic operating theatre team at the Platinum Medical Centre, who very extremely kind, caring, friendly and reassured me hugely by explaining exactly what was happening and why,and  what to expect at every step of the procedure, even making me smile! Without their expertise, professionalism  and empathy I would have been very fearful and found the surgery far more daunting. All of the nursing staff also provided a wonderful degree of care, courtesy and kindness which again made the whole day so much easier and relaxed, at all times you felt so safe, well cared for and constantly reassured.  During and after the procedure I felt no pain, I had prepared myself for weeks if not longer of awful pain!, I experienced what I would describe as throbbing and discomfort rather than pain for around 4 hours the evening of my surgery, it was bearable and 2 paracetomol soon sorted this , there was no further pain at all, by day 4 the swelling and bruising had virtually disappeared and all appears to be healing very well so far. At my day 3 post op check I once again found Mr O' Toole to be polite, kind, down to earth and keen to ensure I was happy so far. Again, he explained everything very clearly to me, answered my questions, and promised that if I have any recurrence in future or am not happy once we see the final position of my ear, I can return to him. He genuinely wants his patients to leave happy and satisfied and achieve the very best possible results that he is able to, I again felt very reassured and confident , knowing I can return should I need to and not be at all worried or reluctant to do so, which is a relief.  It is still early days yet as I still have some glue attached  and stitch removal in 2 weeks, so we won't know the final result for some time, but I am already delighted and amazed at the improvement and difference, giving me a huge boost already and just being able to walk out the day of the  surgery with my hair up for the first time in 20 years felt great!. Mr O' Toole is  honest, realistic and makes sure you are fully aware of the chance of recurrence but he ensures you would feel happy and able to return to him which really puts your mind at ease.  Right from my initial enquiry I have also found Mr O' Toole's secretary to be very helpful , polite and made sure it all went very smoothly, emails were replied to promptly, all of my questions were answered and I was kept fully up to date on appointments and all aspects of booking which has made it so easy and straightforward for me and would like to say thank you for.  I don't think I knew what to expect but the whole experience has been a very  positive one, and a pleasant surprise just how well it has gone so far, all of my initial fears and worries soon disappeared, I felt sure I had chosen the best surgeon,   a very highly skilled, competent  and experienced man who cares about the patient and their expectations first and foremost. I was overwhelmed and quite emotional by the amount of kindness, and excellent care I received throughout, I knew I had no reason to be worried and would especially recommend Mr O' Toole and his team if you are very nervous, self conscious or unsure as his gentle yet knowledgeable manner instantly puts you at ease.  I will be forever grateful and thankful to Mr O' Toole and his team for everything they have done for me , I am so  impressed with the results so far, after having waited for so long for something I never thought was possible for me it means the world to me that it went so well and is  a huge relief to have achieved this at long last!, I definitely made the right choice and without doubt one of the best decisions I have ever made , I  can't thank everyone enough!

       

Ear reduction

by Daniel March 2016  ​

Being born with macrotia in both ears, my confidence was never huge and led to me choosing a limited amount of hair styles, all of which would cover my ears.  Dr O'Toole explained to me that he could reduce the size and leave minimal scarring.  Helixical reduction and lobe reduction was possible. I decided to proceed.  During surgery Dr O'Toole was a true professional.  Cool and calm and ready to explain anything should I wish to ask questions.  After surgery, minimal scarring was expertly blended into the helixical rim and my wounds healed without infection.  Very nice.  Because the reduction was quite large (over 1 cm) there was some buckling experienced on the out edge of the ear rim.  Dr O'Toole was prepared for this and advised some revision work after a few months.  This was all included in the aftercare service, all part of the original service offered.  Back to surgery I went, and the buckling removed.  Dr O'Toole explained scarring would occur and fade over a number of years, which I was prepared for.  After just a few weeks, all my wounds have healed, I have had an excellent ear reduction performed, there is very minimal scarring that can not be seen unless close observation is made.  Overall I am very pleased with the work performed.  I have since cut my hair shorter, something I have never had in my life and experienced a very positive result with a very professional service.  Dr O'Toole leaves himself available to you if you ever need advice and he explains every step of the way. ​ Very skilled, very professional.  Would recommend.  


Earstitch

by Angela February 2016  

​I would like to express my thanks to Mr O'Toole and his team of staff for my care and treatment during my recent Earstitch  surgery.   From my first appointment I immediately felt at ease with Mr O'Toole and during our initial consultation he explained the procedure in full and what I could expect in terms of results and recovery time. He also explained that recurrence of prominence is a possibility and revision surgery is sometimes required, particularly when the prominence is severe as in my case. Nevertheless I felt reassured and confident of a successful outcome and decided to go ahead with the surgery.  My first operation went well and recovery, was quick but with some post op pain and discomfort for the first few days.   After a couple of months I became aware  that my right ear had started to push back out again.  I went to see Mr O'Toole and he agreed that revision surgery was necessary and a second operation was arranged.  I had the surgery a month ago and once again recovery has been quick and pain has been minimal  and everything has gone well. Mr O'Toole is confident that no further surgery will be required this time and I can honestly say that I am delighted with my ears after suffering the embarrassment and shame of 'big ears' for so many years.  Throughout the entire experience Mr O'Toole has been courteous, professional and honest and I have no hesitation in recommending Mr O'Toole to anyone who may be considering embarking on this type of surgery.  ​ Angela  February 2016


Microtia  

by Barny Sun Mar 24 2013   

I could not recommend Dr Greg O'Toole highly enough after the fantastic care and wonderful results my daughter has had under him and his amazing team.  MY daughter was born with microtia of the left ear and at the age of eleven we met Dr O'Toole for the first time from that day I had every confidence in him.He made us all feel at ease and gave us all the information we needed to make our final decision to go through with the surgery. He had a fantastic way with my daughter who was more than happy to go through with the procedure after he had explained the operation,treatment,risks and complications very clearly.  We went into the Royal Free in 2010 for the first procedure, the care we had was outstanding from Dr O'Toole,his team and all the nursing staff involved,I cannot thank them enough. The operation was quite long but Dr O' Toole himself came up to the ward to tell me how it had gone.   He really is an amazingly talented surgeon who goes over and above the call of duty to care for his patients and their families.I could not have found a better person for the job. We have had a lot of follow up appointments and check ups with Dr O'Toole and he has always been open and honest about everything.  My daughter had a second procedure and the results were incredible. She is now fourteen and over the moon with the results.  If you are considering any surgery of this kind do not hesitate to contact Dr O'Toole you will not be disappointed.

    

Pinnaplasty

by Most30 Sun May 20, 2012   

Absolute gentleman. Fantastic surgeon. Great team.   I could not recommend Dr O'toole highly enough to anyone considerIng ear surgery. I am extremely happy with the results of my prominence ear correction in March 2012, thanks to Dr O'toole. I can honestly say that it has changed my life and looks better as each day goes by.  

   

Revision otoplasty

by Dean Sun Feb 17, 2013  

My positive experience with Mr O’Toole…  As a 6 year old in 1989, I had Otoplasty surgery on the NHS to correct my large protruding ears. After my bandages were removed, my parents noticed my left ear was almost glued to the side of my head, especially in the middle giving my left ear the appearance of a quaver crisp. However, my right ear looked completely natural - it had a good result. This now meant I had two very unsymmetrical ears.   My parents politely challenged the surgeon on this, but his response was that the result was perfectly within the parameters of what’s considered a successful surgery. And with that said, my parents couldn't do much else apart from accept my ears and live in the hope I would do too. (I should point out, this type of operation wasn't very advanced back then and I have since learnt that many people were left with very unnatural looking ears, just like me).  From around the time I started to become aware of my appearance, I started to become aware of my unsymmetrical ears. And the older I got, the more conscious I became. Unfortunately for me, around the time I was 16, digital cameras started to hit the market and people were taking more pictures than ever. What this meant for me, is that I would spend the next 13 years dodging pictures as best I possibly could. I won’t go into too much detail about how hard I tried to overcome the camera situation but you can probably imagine – tried growing long hair, posed with my head at an angle, made up a story that I wasn't allowed to have my photo taken etc, etc. You name it, I did it.   Anyway at the age of 20 I started searching for a surgeon to correct my left ear. I contacted many surgeons worldwide and had consultations with a top surgeon in London and also with one of America’s leading surgeons in Virginia. Both refused to work on my ear which left me devastated and feeling that I was going to have to go through the rest of my life with a very unnatural, unsymmetrical looking left ear. Feeling deflated, I gave up searching for while, until I had an inspiration back in 2009 to search for ‘ear reconstruction’ surgeons as opposed to Otoplasty surgeons. I felt if a surgeon can create an ear where there isn't one, why can’t they correct mine. And so my search took me down a different path one that would eventually lead me to Mr O’Toole.  On meeting Mr O’Toole, he made me feel completely relaxed, listened patiently to my story and never interrupted and completely understood how my left ear had affected me. He looked over my ears and told me immediately the type of procedure I had on my ears back in 80’s, which yielded few good results. He even went as far as drawing what he was trying to explain, to try and help me understand what had taken place with my ear and how he could possibly try to correct it. He then backed that up by showing me before and after pictures of other patients that had similar issues to mine. It was at this point I realised we had gone over our 40 minute consultation time, I apologised and he told me not to worry, and that we could talk for longer if I still had unanswered questions. What I liked the most about Mr O’Toole was the fact he was very open and transparent with me. He told me of all the possibly complications that could occur, he also told me not to expect my left ear to be completely symmetrical with my right (as this is impossible). But he also told me that he was fairly confident he could achieve a result which looks better than what it did but obviously something like that cannot be guaranteed. He then explained the prices involved and stated that if my ear came out looking worse than before, he would operate on my ear again for free (to correct it). He told me to not rush into a decision straight away, to think about it and contact his secretary if I wanted to go ahead.  I went away and thought about everything he said and decided to go ahead with the revision otoplasty surgery in October 2012. Mr O’Toole came to see me before the surgery and looked at my ears again, took some photos, explained what he hoped to achieve and kindly asked if I wouldn’t mind going second as the girl next door was very nervous, which I said was fine by me. After my surgery, I was given some food and drink and discharged around 2 hours later.   It’s now 4 months since my revision Otoplasty surgery with Mr O’Toole and my post operative results are fantastic. Your ear goes through a number of stages straight after surgery which is why you can never really tell the true outcome until 4-6 months after. My left ear now appears natural looking and is a lot more symmetrical with my right. I have been to see him since and he is very pleased with how my ear is looking and also healing. I no longer have an issue with my ear anymore and it feels great to not feel conscious about it anymore. I am, however, struggling to get used to posing for photos. Years of camera phobia due to my ear means I now have to teach myself how to relax in front of the camera but I’m having lots of fun in the process so don’t feel too bad for me.  Lastly I would just like to say, if anyone is considering having their ears operated on, I would highly recommend you go and see Mr O’Toole. After you meet him you’ll be able to judge for yourself whether he is the right surgeon to operate on your ears. I know I'll be eternally grateful to him for correcting my ear which plagued me for so much of my life.      


Microtia

by Kathy Mon Feb 04, 2013  

My son was born with Goldenhar syndrome ( Hemi facial Microsomia ). Which means the right side of his face was under developed, he was also missing his right ear , ear canal and the internal working of his right ear.   We have tried to bring my son up to accept his image and be proud of who he is, but I would be lying if at times I didn't say he struggled with his appearance. His friends have always accepted him, but meeting new people and going to strange places could sometimes be problematic.   At the age of 5 my son had a prosthetic ear made which was a copy of his left ear, this could be quite uncomfortable to wear for long periods, became lose when removing clothing, in the end school had an issue with adjusting it, if it became lose, with this in mind we took the decision not to encourage my son to wear it so that he didn't feel uncomfortable or segregated.  We first met Mr O’Toole in September 2009 when he was age 8, and were shown pictures of his previous work, he spoke to my son which was refreshing and instantly gained his and our trust, he had a wonderful manner which helped us all feel a little more confident with the procedure, he explained the treatment and complications very well.  A year later when my son was age 9 he under went the first procedure to create him an ear Mr O’Toole and Mr Sabbagh used my sons rib cartilage to create the ear shape.  The operation took quite some time, my husband and I waited anxiously for news. Mr O’Toole visited us after the operation to assure us, all was fine and everything had gone well.  We where amazed with the results, even two weeks after the operation, when there was still some swelling the ear looked fantastic, given six months when all should have settled, we already new our son had a fantastic result. With ear reconstruction there is no maximum number of operations my son has had two procedures since the first, one to release the ear and one to re graft the skin covering the back of the ear, these where a little more complicated to care for, but I had great advice from Mr O’Toole and his nursing staff how to treat this area, in the future there may be more little adjustments to make.   We have always been very honest with our son in our approach to reconstruction in that God and Nature created his good ear and the best surgeons in the world would not be able to recreate that, however they may come very close.  I trust Mr O’Toole and his judgment immensely and our son is very grateful and pleased with the results, as we as parents are, the change in confidence in our son is amazing.  My son had his procedure on the NHS and at the Royal Free in London, the nursing staff where amazing with him and us as a family.   Going through such a traumatic life changing procedure, was made so much more bearable by Mr O’Toole and his team.       


Otoplasty

by Stephanie January 2014   

I would like to share my positive experience with Mr O'Toole. > > After going to see Mr O'Toole in April 2013 for an initial consultation for prominent ear correction, I made the decision to go ahead with the procedure and had my first prominent ear correction surgery in June 2013. I had always wanted to get it done at some point through my teenage years but was quite scared as to what it would involve and did not know what surgeon to go to or which one to trust. > > After researching various surgeons again when I was approaching 30 I came across Mr O'Toole and noticed he had a lot of positive reviews. This is one of the reasons why I chose to book a consultation with him. After the consultation I was definate that I wanted to go through with the surgery. Mr O'Toole spent a lot of time with me explaining the procedure and the possible outcomes. Mr O'Toole advised me about the risks of which recurrence was one. He said that this happened in every 1 out of 10 cases. Mr O'Toole reassured me and was very down to earth and honest with whatever questions I had asked. He was also confident that he could improve the look of my ears. > > After my first surgery in June 2013 I went back for a few follow up appointments. It took around 4 months for the final position of my ears to be noticed. I went back to Mr O'Toole in November (5 months after surgery) as I had noticed that my right ear had moved back out more than the left (left had only moved slightly). He agreed that my ears had moved and offered to re-operate on my ears free of charge to correct this. This was arranged for January 2014. > > I am now 3 weeks post the second procedure and again everything went well. I will again have to wait to see the true position of my ears after around 3 to 6 months, however I am confident that he has achieved a good result. If not, I feel completely comfortable to go back to him and discuss this. > > Overall, I have found Mr O'Toole to be a nice guy, who genuinely cares and wants his patients to be happy with the results. If anyone is thinking about prominent ear correction I would definitely recommend Mr O'Toole.

Announce coming events

Having a big sale, on-site celebrity, or other event? Be sure to announce it so everybody knows and gets excited about it.

Display real testimonials

Are your customers raving about you on social media? Share their great stories to help turn potential customers into loyal ones.

Promote current deals

Running a holiday sale or weekly special? Definitely promote it here to get customers excited about getting a sweet deal.

Share the big news

Have you opened a new location, redesigned your shop, or added a new product or service? Don't keep it to yourself, let folks know.

Display their FAQs

Customers have questions, you have answers. Display the most frequently asked questions, so everybody benefits.